CHECKMATE!!!

image

Dad wouldn’t yell check-mate
He’d just lift his head and look at me
Because the pieces on the board spoke volumes
Words I didn’t need an interpreter to decipher
About how the fact that I was surrounded and defenseless
Was about to make a mockery of my senses
It was set to question the state of my mind
Even as outwardly I whispered a halted never mind
Never mind that this was the latest in a long line of defeats
Never mind that once again my tactics had proved abortive
Cus at the end of the day, I was going to ask for a repeat
Another chance to pit my wits against his
And my plan as always was to give it my all
Involve my heart and my head and hope for victory
Cus my dad is the wise man who taught me that the only way I can fail, is to accept defeat,
You know, just throw my hands up and quit!

Leave a comment